Theatre - Hilda

Theater im Haus der Kunst, Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel München

theatre-season: 2003 / 2004 / 2005
german first edition: 11.12.2003

drama by Marie Ndiaye

director: Oliver Brunner

set- and costume-design: Tina Kitzing

Tina Kitzing was awarded the Süddeutsche Zeitung award as "Best Newcomer Artist" for her stage and costume design during the season 03/04.

Hilda, the title character, never appears on stage, but she is nevertheless ever present, due to the references made by other people close to her: her employer Madame Lemarchand, her husband Franck and her sister Corinne.







The stage design shows a closed cylindrical object, consisting of various old doors. It occupies the spacious but otherwise empty stage of the "Haus der Kunst" (stage of the Munich Staatstheater) like a bizarre comet. As the play begins, two doors open up suddenly and the audience gains an insight into Madame's sterile room.

It is a strategy game of loss and change of identity, in which Hilda becomes the projection screen for the longings of the Madame. Methodically she tries to manipulate her opponent Franck and to gradually win him over to her side.

The object on stage revolves to the sound of a music box and to open up new insights into the inside of a cell-like condensed system of spaces, where only the Madame seems to rule. Her house and garden, as well as Franck's kitchen and the spaces in-between create an object containing many unexpected facets. Madame's costume represents the plain elegance of an affluent society, in contrast to the plain everyday clothes of Franck and Corinne.

During the play the Madame's costumes become more and more colourful with the colour of life - the life of Hilda.

Theater - Hilda

Theater im Haus der Kunst, Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel München

Spielzeit: 2003 / 2004 / 2005
Deutsche Erstaufführung: 11.12.2003

Drama von Marie Ndiaye

Regie: Oliver Brunner

Bühnenbild und Kostüme: Tina Kitzing

Für die Gestaltung von Bühne und Kostümen ist Tina Kitzing von der Süddeutschen Zeitung zur besten Nachwuchskünstlerin für die Spielzeit 03/04 gewählt worden.

Hilda - die Titelfigur, die nicht auftritt und trotzdem sehr präsent ist durch den Blick, den ihre nächsten Bezugspersonen zu ihr haben: ihre Arbeitgeberin Madame Lemarchand, ihr Mann Franck und ihre Schwester Corinne.







Das Bühnenbild zeigt ein abgeschlossenes zylinderförmiges Objekt, dass aus vielen alten Türen besteht. Wie ein fremder Komet steht es in dem grossen, weissen Spielraum im "Haus der Kunst". Plötzlich öffnen sich 2 Türen und das Publikum erhält Einblicke in den sterilen Raum der Madame, in dem das Spiel beginnt.

Es ist ein strategisches Spiel von Verlust und Wechsel der Identität, bei der Hilda zur Projektionsfläche für die Sehnsüchte der Madame wird. Ihren Kontrahenten Franck versucht sie taktisch zu manipulieren und nach und nach für sich zu gewinnen.

Das Objekt dreht sich zu den Klängen einer Spieluhr und eröffnet immer wieder neue Einblicke in das Innere einer Zelle - ein kompaktes System, das die Madame zu regieren scheint. Ihr Haus und Garten, sowie Franck's Küche und die Zwischenräume bilden das Objekt, das voller Überraschungen steckt. Madames Kostüm zeigt im Vergleich zur heutigen Alltagsbekleidung von Franck und Corinne die schlichte Eleganz einer Wohlstandsgesellschaft.

Im Lauf des Spiels der Madames nimmt ihre Kleidung mehr und mehr die Farbe des Lebens - von Hilda- an.