Dance - E=mc˛

Staatstheater Stuttgart opening night: 24.06.1999
World premiere by the Stuttgarter Ballett
choreographer: Jean Christophe Blavier
set-design: Tina Kitzing
light-design: Steven Scott

 

E=mc˛ does not have a story line in a conventional sense, which poses a great challenge. With E=mc˛ I wanted to build a bridge between abstraction and drama. It is not only a mathematical formula but further-more it includes spiritual principles for me.

The central character in E = mc˛ represents a human being, who finds enlightenment in his observation of these principles and phenomena of nature.
(J. C. Blavier)



The choreography takes on the challenge to make the clear, physical energy visible by means of ballet and stage design. Choreography and set mirror the elementary physical relationships, which determine the composition of our universe.

Coloured pinnacles are created, rearranged and moved around in this space of energy and thus create different ambients in the theatre space.

The dancers personify energy and interact with the similarly energetic pinnacle shapes. An interplay between energy and mass is being created, which are in proportion to each other according to Einstein's equation E = mc˛.

Dynamic and static powers are being expressed in the interplay between human and geometrical bodies, supported by large-scale projections of flowing water. (Tina Kitzing)

Tanz - E=mc²

Staatstheater Stuttgart Premiere: 24.06.1999
Eine Uraufführung des Stuttgarter Ballett
Choreographie: Jean Christophe Blavier
Bühnenbild: Tina Kitzing
Lichtdesign: Steven Scott

 

E=mc² hat keine Handlung im klassischen Sinne, was eine große Herausforderung darstellt. Mit E=mc² will ich eine Brücke zwischen Abstraktion und Drama schlagen. Diese Formel ist für mich nicht nur eine mathematische, sondern beinhaltet auch geistige Prinzipien.

Die Hauptfigur in E=mc² symbolisiert einen Menschen, der in der Beobachtung dieser Prinzipien und Phänomene der Natur Erleuchtung findet.
(J.C. Blavier)



Die Choreographie stellt sich der Herausforderung die reine, physikalische Energie mit den Mitteln des Balletts und der Bühne sichtbar zu machen. Choreographie und Bühne spiegeln die grundlegenden physikalischen Beziehungen wieder, die den Aufbau unseres Universums bestimmen.

In diesem Raum der Energie entstehen, verändern und bewegen sich farbige Spitzen und formen so unterschiedliche Raumsituationen.

Die Tänzer verkörpern die Energie und interagieren mit den gleichfalls energiegeladenen Formen der Spitzen. Es entsteht ein Wechselspiel zwischen Energien und Massen, die gemäß der Einsteinschen Gleichung E=mc² proportional zueinander sind.

Im Wechselspiel von menschlichen und geometrischen Körpern werden fließende und statische Kräfte ausgedrückt, die durch die Großprojektion von bewegtem Wasser unterstützt werden.
(Tina Kitzing)