Dance - The trails of Prometheus

Stadttheater Giessen theatre-season: 2003 / 2004
opening night: 14.02.2004
dance-performance after an idea by Tarek Assam and Peter Oppermann
choreographer and concept: Tarek Assam
choreographer: Paulina Wycichowska, Eric Oberdorff
set- and costume-design: Tina Kitzing
libretto and dramaturgy: Peter Oppermann

 

 

Taken from Greek mythology:
Prometheus tried to deceive Zeus for the benefit of mankind, who thereupon withdrew the fire as punishment. When Prometheus stole the fire and returned it back to earth, Zeus sent Pandora to all humans, who bestowed upon them evil and illnesses. Zeus ordered that the offender himself was forged onto a rock, where an eagle gnaws daily at his liver, which renewed itself during night-time, until Herakles redeemed the sufferer.







The ballet is structured into the following scenes:
Song of the Oceanids - A world without fire - The fire - Dialogue with the gods - The banishment - Finale

Each member of the audience receives a small rock at the entrance to the Theatre a symbol of the rock which Prometheus is forged onto. A performer, symbolising the eagle, joins the audience in the foyer and confronts them with text fragments of the myth of Prometheus.

The set consists of two variable structures made out of glass and steel, which are filled with pieces of rock. The pieces can be moved in different positions on the stage to represent narrowness and wideness, city and nature. They offer a space for performance and projection platform for the different situations Prometheus has to go through, in order to bring back the extinguished fire to mankind. The rocks are in flames, as the positive and negative use of fire and its effects are being projected and expressed through dance. The costumes reflect a uniform society where identity is being pushed back. Only the figure of the eagle, into which each dancer has the ability to change into, differentiates itself by its expressive costume. (Tina Kitzing)

Tanz - PrometheusSpuren

Stadttheater Giessen Spielzeit: 2003 / 2004
Premiere: 14.02.2004
Tanzstück nach einer Idee von Tarek Assam und Peter Oppermann
Choreografie und Konzept: Tarek Assam
Choreografie: Paulina Wycichowska, Eric Oberdorff
Bühnenbild und Kostüme: Tina Kitzing
Libretto und Dramaturgie: Peter Oppermann

 

Aus der griechischen Mythologie:
Zugunsten der Menschen versuchte Prome- theus, Zeus zu betrügen, der daraufhin zur Strafe der Menschheit das Feuer entzog. Als Prometheus dieses stahl und zur Erde zurück brachte, sandte Zeus Pandora zu den Men- schen, die allerlei Übel und Krankheiten bescherte. Den Frevler selbst ließ Zeus an den Felsen schmieden, wo ihm ein Adler täglich die Leber zerfraß, die sich nachts wieder erneuerte, bis schließlich Herakles den Leidenden erlöste.







Das Tanzstück gliedert sich in die Szenenfolge:
Gesang der Okeaniden - Welt ohne Feuer - Das Feuer - Gespräch mit den Göttern - Die Verbannung - Finale

Der Besucher erhält am Eingang des Theaters einen Teil des Felsens, an den Prometheus geschmiedet ist. Ein Darsteller, der den Adler symbolisiert, mischt sich im Foyer unter die Besucher und konfrontiert sie mit Fragmenten aus dem Prometheusmythos.

Das Bühnenbild besteht aus zwei variablen Gebilden, gebaut aus Stahl und Glas, die mit Felsstücken gefüllt sind. In der Veränderbarkeit durch ihre Position auf der Bühne stellen sie Enge und Weite dar, Stadt und Natur. Sie bieten eine Spiel- und Projektionsfläche für die verschiedensten Situationen, die Prometheus durchleben muß, um den Menschen das erloschene Feuer zurück zu bringen. Die Felsen stehen in Flammen, während der positive und negative Umgang von Feuer und seine Wirkungen projiziert und tänzerisch dargestellt wird. Die Kostüme zeigen eine uniformierte Gesellschaft, in der Identität zurückgedrängt wird. Nur die Adlerfigur, in die sich verschiedene Tänzer verwandeln können, differenziert sich durch ihr fantastisches Kostüm. (Tina Kitzing)