Opera - Orfeo ed Euridice

Schloßtheater Schönbrunn, Wien
theatre-season: 2000 / 2001
opening night: 19.06.2001
opera by Christoph Willibald Gluck
director: Marianne Loy
set-design: Tina Kitzing

 

The coffin of the deceased Euridice is laid out in the foyer of the Schlosstheater Schönbrunn. Funeral guests lament her death while welcoming the audience. A funeral procession leads everybody from the foyer into the auditorium. All members of the audience receive a white rose to throw upon Euridice's coffin, which has been lowered into the orchestra pit.

On stage Orfeo, his friends and relatives mourn in front of an abstract casket wall of a crematorium. Amor suddenly jumps out of the coffin, dressed as a clown, and invites Orfeo to climb down into the underworld.



On his quest to find his female side, Orfeo enters the gash in the backdrop resembling a vagina. The inner and outer world is interchanged by reversing the backdrop. Inside the red and warm womb, the Elysium, Orfeo encounters the Happy Shadows of the underworld, which keep the waters of birth running.

Orfeo finally meets Euridice and the situation suddenly shifts. Both find themselves in an everyday kitchen setting, where the familiar marital quarrel is revived. The quarrel centres on the conditions of her rescue; however Orfeo is not allowed to mention these.

Bygone situations of the couple's past are performed by a dancing couple.

Orfeo's true love to Euridice is being tested to the limit.

Clown Amor appears and averts the tragedy by covering the past with white satin sheet. As a sign of true love he lets all his fellow clowns pierce the little love heart with a giant arrow

Oper - Orfeo ed Euridice

Schloßtheater Schönbrunn, Wien
Spielzeit: 2000 / 2001
Premiere: 19.06.2001
Oper von Christoph Willibald Gluck
Regie: Marianne Loy
Bühnenbild: Tina Kitzing

 

Im Foyer des Schlosstheaters steht der Sarg der verstorbenen Euridice aufgebahrt. Trauergäste beklagen ihren Tod und empfangen die Zuschauer. Der Trauerzug führt durch das Foyer in den Theaterraum. Alle Besucher erhalten eine weiße Rose, die sie auf Euridices Sarg werfen, der in den Orchestergraben abgelassen wurde.

Vor einer abstrakten Kassettenwand eines Krematoriums trauern Orfeo, Freunde und Verwandte. Plötzlich springt Amor als Clown aus dem Sarg und fordert Orfeo auf in die Unterwelt zu steigen.



Auf der Suche nach seiner weiblichen Seite betritt Orfeo, die weibliche Vagina. Durch eine Prospektfahrt werden Außen- und Innenwelt vertauscht. In der roten und warmen Gebärmutter, dem Elysium, trfft Orfeo auf die glücklichen Schatten in der Unterwelt, die das Wasser des Gebärens in Fluss halten.

Orfeo begegnet Euridice in einer sich plötzlich wandelnden Situation. Sie finden sich in ihrer alltäglichen Küche wieder, in der sich erneut der altbekannte Ehekrach an den Bedingungen der Rettung entzündet, die Orfeo nicht nennen darf.

Vergangene Situationen werden durch ein Tanzpaar ausgedrückt.

Die wahre Liebe Orfeos zu Euridice wird bis auf das Äußerste geprüft.

Der Clown Amor wendet die Tragödie ab und bedeckt die Vergangenheit unter einer weißen Seide. Dabei läßt er als Zeichen der Liebe alle seine Clowns mit einem riesigen Pfeil das kleine Liebesherz durchbohren.